The Top 10 Starting Pitchers of the 1990s

Top 10 Starting Pitchers of the 1990s!
CHICAGO - CIRCA 1999: Greg Maddux #31 of the Atlanta Braves pitches during an MLB game at Wrigley Field in Chicago, Illinois. Maddux played for 23 years with 4 different teams was an 8-time All-Star, 4-time Cy Young Award winner and was inducted to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2014. (Photo by SPX/Ron Vesely Photography via Getty Images)

10) Kevin Appier

From 1990–93, Appier had an ERA under 3. Then, he was a solid pitcher for the rest of the decade, but never as good as he was the first half of the decade.

9) Mike Mussina

Mussina was an effective pitcher for the entire decade, Compiling a 136-66 record in 254 games starts from 199199. His best year came in 1992 when he threw 4 shutouts and 8 complete games in 32 starts.

8) John Smoltz

Smoltz is one of three Braves pitchers from the 90s on this list. He broke teammate Greg Maddux’s consecutive Cy Young streak in 1996.

7) David Cone

Cone’s finest season was in 1994 when he won the Cy Young award as a Kansas City Royal during a strike-shortened season. For the decade of the 90s, Cone compiled a 3.21 ERA.

6) Kevin Brown

Brown was dominant over the last 5 years of the 1990s. Brown led the league in ERA in ’96 at 1.89, coming in second in the NL Cy Young race. Maybe his most significant season was 1997 when he helped lead the Marlins to a World Series win over the Cleveland Indians.

5) Pedro Martinez

Martinez was dominant at the end of the 1990s, and he was the best in the game from1997 to –99. After winning his first Cy Young award and posting a 1.90 ERA in ’97 with the Montreal Expos, the team dealt him for some stupid reason to the Boston Red Sox for Carl Pavano and Tony Armas Jr. He went on to win the Cy Young again in 1998, finished second in 1999. In 1999 he helped lead the Red Sox to the playoffs.

4) Tom Glavine

Glavine, for the decade, compiled an ERA of 3.21 and helped the Braves won a World Series in addition n 1995. In addition, Glavine, during the decade, led the National League in wins 4 times. Glavine also won two Cy Young awards.

3) Randy Johnson

Johnson’s best year during the decade came in 1995, the first year he won a Cy Young award, in which he led the league in both eras (2.48). Johnson helped the Mariners make it all the way to the ALCS. Johnson won a second Cy Young in 1999 pitching for the Arizona Diamondbacks. For the decade, Johnson had an ERA of 3.14.

2) Roger Clemens

Clemens won 3 Cy Young awards in the 1990s, and he pitched for three teams the Red Sox, Blue Jays, and Yankees. For the decade, his ERA was 3.01, with his best season coming in 1990 as he led the Red Sox to the ALCS with a season ERA of 1.93.

1) Greg Maddux

Maddux has to be number one as he won 4 consecutive Cy Young awards between 1992-95. He helped lead Atlanta to a World Championship in 1995. Maddux pitched 24 innings in the 1995 NLCS and World Series and allowed just 5 earned runs.

Previous article
Next article
Sportsbook of the month
Top Betting Sites
Top Betting Bonuses
Move to Top
Your Bonus Code:
The bonus offer was already opened in an additional window. If not, you can open it also by clicking the following link:
Go to Provider